The Darshan Letter – Sathya Sai Memories Cont.

DARSH11

A Long, Long Time Ago Letter

 

 

It was an afternoon in the summer of 1992, when I was sitting in the Mandir between darshan and bhajans, that the following letter was passed to me by a lady sitting nearby. The letter was so touching that I kept it for years. We have included the letter here on Sai Memories as a reminder of how devotees felt about the Ashram all those years ago.



“Use every little experience as a teaching tool. Put out of your mind any belief in chance or accident and know that everything that happens here, down to the smallest thing, is an outpouring of my limitless love and tailored especially for you. Notice the lines you get, the state of your health and body, the way you feel, wash, eat and look, whom you meet and how you are doing. See if you accept the whole experience with calm equanimity. Center your attention on me. See the whole atmosphere as a reflection of your inner-being. The Mandir is your heart. I dwell in it. The ashram is your identity and the village your worldly desires. In the village, you are strongly pulled outward and away from me. In the ashram you have more of a chance, but it is still very easy to get distracted. In the mandir (your heart) you can actually see me from time to time, but even there it is easy to be only half present and not realise that I love to give.  By my grace this outer show gives you the means to strengthen the contact to me in your own heart. Make use of the time. Concentrate every iota of your attention on me. Open yourself totally whenver you catch a glimpse of my gown. Be ready to accept and I’ll give, but don’t expect. Think always of those more deserving than you and know that what you receive is an act of grace and love. Be open and free from fantasy and projection. Just be mine and I’ll be yours. This way you will find happiness and fulfilment. Remember that I am not only in the Sai Baba form here, though that is central, but hidden embodied in everyone who is here. Can you find me in them or are you distracted by their outer characteristics and habits?   Look deeper – In eyes that love and yearn for me is my darshan also available. Honour and learn from the devoted; there are many examples here. Accept my grace from whatever source it comes. Be loved and blessed.”