Holi Celebrations And The Red Rose – Sathya Sai Memories Cont.

 

 

India – the market in bangalore

Always think of God and you will see what He does _ Sai Baba

 

Holi celebrations are always colourful and one particular Holi celebration stands out in my mind.  What luck!  Line number that afternoon had been good!  I’d  drawn number one.  I was at the front of the line too!  So had been seated at the very front of the darshan rows and near to where the festivities were to take place.

The afternoon was hot and the wait long. Then I needed to go to the toilet.  So I’d left my seat under the watchful gaze of a friend, strolled along the aisle towards the temple exit. Just before the exit, I spotted a fresh red rose on the ground. It was beautiful and fresh, a rose like none other. I  stooped to pick it up. Strange, I thought, that a rose had been left on the ground because the seva ladies usually sweep the aisle every few minutes so unlikely to be even a  tiny speck of dust there.

Now what to do  with the rose. I hurriedly wrapped it in a few strands of my hair. I suppose it looked  somewhat strange perched there on top of my head but I didn’t care. Outside the darshan area the  searing hot ground burnt my feet. I had to hop and skip all the way to the toilet. Repeated the same hop and skip dance on the way back. At one point the rose fell from my hair. I quickly retrieved it, tucking it down the front of my dress. I hoped the seva dal girls would not notice the rose. Once I got to the seva dals, I looked down for the rose, to remove it, oddly enough, it had disappeared. I searched on the ground near the temple area but there was no sign of it. I gave up and walked back  to the temple  entry without my newly found red rose.

The ladies frisked me thoroughly. There was no sign of the beautiful red rose anywhere on me. I returned to my seat with a sigh. I love red roses and this one had seemed such a gift.  A few minutes later I felt something pricking my skin,  I glancing down and  saw the red rose, as fresh and beautiful as ever. Gently removing the rose from my dress, I wrapped it in my hair  again. Now with the rose secured in my hair, I  sat like a princess waiting for Sai’s darshan and for the festivities to begin.To this day I feel the rose was a gift to me from Sai – a silent little manifestation of the divine in a small  flower.

 

Holi Festival and the colours!

The joys of Holi knows no bound.

Legend of Holi Festival


Holi is one of the oldest festivals of India. There are many interesting stories associated with the festival’s origin as one moves across the different states from North to South and East to West. Paintings and scriptures depict the roots of the festival. Mythology plays a very important part in narrating the festival of Holi. The most popular stories of Holi origin relates to ‘Holika Dahan’ and Legend of Radha-Krishan.

Story of Holika
Integrally entwined with Holi, is the tradition of ‘Holika Dahan’, which is actually lighting of bonfires. The ritual is symbolic of victory of good over evil and has its root in the legend of demon king Hiranyakashyap who wished to end his blessed son, Prahlad’s life with the help of his sister, Holika who burnt in the fir and no harm occurred to Prahlad. Since then the day is celebrated in victory of good over bad.

Story of Radha and Krishan
The legend of Radha and Krishna is closely linked with this tradition of colors on Holi. Young Krishna, who had a dark complexion was jealous of his beloved Radha’s extremely fair skin. In a mischievous mood, he applied color on Radha’s face. Following this ancient legend, lovers till date long to color their beloved as an expression of love.