“My Lesson” – by Rick Jarrow – Sathya Sai Memories Cont.

swamithree

“This is my simple religion. There is no need for temples; no need for complicated philosophy. Our own brain, our own heart is our temple; the philosophy is kindness to all and also the creatures, large and small.”

Dalai Lama


On my last day at Sai Baba’s Ashram, Baba appeared, and came towards the side where I was sitting. There were a few of us lined up in a row with packets of vibhuti We held them up for Baba to bless as he walked by. He lightly touched the first person’s packet, the second person’s, and hovering just above my own, he passed right over me and proceeded to bless the next one. His face, during all of this, was totally serene, impersonal, and filled with bliss. I gazed at his form as he walked away.

Walking with my bags to the check out office. I thought about my yogi friend who had been chided me a few days earlier. ‘What, you don’t believe in yourself?’ I paused by the window to return my key, and as I was about to exit I ran into a message from Baba. It was written on a blackboard in chalk. They were waiting to hang it up outside the bookstall as the lesson of the day;

Have firm faith that you are the atman. (the eternal soul), that the divine spark is in you. Move out into the world like heroes whom success does not spoil and defeat does not discourage. There is no need to call on Him to come from somewhere else. Become aware of Him as your inner self.

Courtesy Rick Jarow – ‘In Search of the Sacred’

.