Sai Feeds Sai Gita – Early Devotees – Birgitte Rodriguez


Birgitte Rodriguez tells many little titillating tales in her book ‘Glimpses of the Divine’. One of those tales is as follows: (This is a shortened version of her story told in my words.)


“Nearing the place where Sai Gita is kept, I was pleasantly surprised to find that Swami was en- route to feed her.

I was breathless as I approached the spot where the keeper had saved for me. How had the keeper known Swami would stop there that day? Apparently he had good intuition about Swami’s comings and goings. He nudged me, to draw my attention to my camera that now hung unforgotten around my neck. This was a really good chance to see both Sai Baba and Sai Gita together, also a good chance for a wonderful photograph to keep of the memory. Soon Swami’s  red car approached. The car door opened and Swami stepped out. Walking several steps toward Gita, he reached out and put his arms around her trunk and gave her a huge hug. Gita closed her eyes in ecstasy. Swami then took the bananas and fed them one by one to Gita, stroking her trunk as she ate.  He did not stay long but the event was so special, that I will never forget it and I have a photograph to keep forever.

I often wondered what silent conversation went on between Swami and Sai Gita. Whatever interchange there was, it certainly had to be a glorious one. The love that passed between them at that feeding was obvious.


-retold from ‘Glimpses of the Divine’