The Late Wilma Bronkey – Early Devotee

Dr. Wilma Bronkey passed away last thursday 10-7-10.

 


“I go to India to see Sai  and be with him, also because he told me to take the tours. The main thing is, when you are with Baba, to pay attention to what he says and to be the best you can be. Climb to your highest nature at all times. Do service and love God is what he tells us to do. Also let me tell you this,  when you visit Sai you will be transformed.  It may be a large transformation or a small one, but you will be transformed! Changed forever.”



Sweet Tales

Wilma Bronkey and her husband Ivan had visited Sai Baba for over forty years. They were there in the early days when physical closeness to Sai had been an easy affair. Here are some high-lights from her remarkable memories of being  with Sai Baba during the early days.

It all began one day during the late 1960’s when Wilma was looking after her children and doing her other work as a care worker at her home called Enchanted Acres. She began to smell a sweet unusual purfume much like vibuthi. This scent was all pervading and would come in waves through her house. She also began to receive intuitively messages from Sai Baba. One thing led to another and once she understood this was Sai’s calling card, she wanted to visit him in India. The only problem was she did not have enough money. Her fare alone would cost over 900 dollars and all she had in the bank was a  few dollars. Actually she only had 8 dollars in the bank. “Oh, I was so disappointed. I said to the lady in the bank, well I only wanted to know how much I had.” ” Wait a minute.” Said the cashier.”There was a deposit last night. A  gentlemen came into the bank that morning and asked me to make sure to deposit this amount into your account. Let’s check how much there is.” – The amount was for 900 dollars.. “Impossible!” I said to the cashier, “I did not put the money into the account.”  “But it is in your account.” The cashier said.  “A  little gentlemen in an orange robe came into the bank and he knew your bank number and he deposited the money into your account for you.” I added a little more to it and with that, I went to India for the first time.

Swami stood on my Feet

An interesting experience happened way back in those early days. In those days, we were allowed in the temple for darshan, we often had with us our cameras, tape recorders and other personal items. It was all so free in those days. I was about 4 or 5 rows back from the front. When I heard one of the men calling my name, telling me to go sit in the front. It was so quiet in the temple I was embarrassed by his demand. In the end though, I gave in and got up and made my way through the ladies all tightly seated together. It was a struggle but I managed it. I sat down again with all my belongings. Suddenly I had a bad case of charlie-horse that caused incredible pain in my legs. I was in agony. I stretched out my legs to help ease the pain. The problem was my legs were over the dividing line that was there on the floor to keep us on the devotee side, and a little way away from where Sai sat on his chair. I was in such pain I could not withdraw my legs up and away from the dividing line. Suddenly there was Swami. He glanced at me for what seems a long while, then proceeded to walk into the temple, whereupon he stepped on my feet! It was a pretty amazing thing to happen. The moment he stepped onto my feet, all the pain in my legs disappeared. I felt as if I’d been hit with an electric force so strong that it left me filled with energy. Every part of my body was charged with this current that came from him. It was a very strange thing. Something I have never been able to forget.


The Story Of Interview and the Rings

The people in my groups often asked Baba for a ring or a watch. He would gently ask them what they wanted and this need for a ring or watch is, often, all they desired. One lady said to Baba, after he’d asked her what she wanted. She answered I want a ring with my birth stone. Sai created a ring for the lady and placed it on her finger but it did not have a birth stone. The lady grew angry and said to Sai that as he had not given her a ring with her birth stone that she would not wear it nor would she visit again.  Of course this is not the right way to approach Sai. The right answer is to ask him for his love or his guidance. Some people don’t know what to say to the question, “What do you want?” They may answer Oh! Baba I don’t know. I only want you. These are the people who often have rings created for them. The rings are not given to give you some sort of decoration for your finger. It is a gift to aid your transformation. If you do not live up to Sai’s message, then the ring will be lost or will sort of bite your finger until you cannot wear it. The rings and gifts are tokens of his love to help you change. You must jolly well pay attention to his words or the gifts are just useless trashy items to show off to friends.

To me, Baba is the creator of the world – he is everything in my mind’s eyes. If you do not know him then my words will be hard for you to swallow and the stories I tell hard for you to imagine. God is in everything. In the trees, the blossoms. The sun that comes up in the morning, that is God. The fire that burns is also God. If you see water running, it is also God. God is the source of everything. So who is God, it is not ‘who’ is God, it is ‘what’ is God. I don’t care what you call your God, the source is the same, whatever name you like to give it. The essence of God, the power of God, the nature of God, whatever the name, is the same thing. You cannot change the nature of God. Names are many but the source is the same. Different people have different paths to God. Yet the destination is exactly the same. I love the soul of all people and all things. I don’t care what is your background, your culture, your nationality, I love all. I want to hug you whatever and whoever you are. I believe that we are all the same. We are all the same soul.

The Story Of The Dog,

There were a couple back in the early days who wanted Sai Baba to come and eat lunch with them. They went to darshan one day and asked Swami to come to lunch. They told him, “We really want you to come to lunch. We are so much waiting for you to visit our house.” Swami answered,  that he would come the very next day. They rushed home and cleaned the house thoroughly. The wife prepared the best foods for Sai on the morning of the expected visit.

They waited and waited but Sai did not come. Then suddenly a dog came into the house, his muddy paws left marks all over the dining room. The dog caused a mess and ate the food. The couple beat the dog  horribly, then kicked him out of the house.

The next day at darshan, the couple asked Swami,  why did he not come to lunch. They said, “We waited and waited but you did not come!” Swami answered, “I was at your house.”  The couple said, “No you were not.” Sai said, “Oh yes I did. I came to visit you but you beat me with a stick and you kicked me out of the house and you did not feed me.” This was the test for the couple that God has all forms.

Excerpt from a talk given by Wilma Bronkey during the early 2000’s

Finally a small tale of how Wilma, in an interview one year, looked straight into Sai Baba’s eyes, and what she saw was to remain with her the rest of her life. She saw  many worlds and realms, colours, and astral lights that she had not seen in this world. She says it was like looking into the infinite.