Sai brings Comfort Through Dream -Sathya Sai Memories

A  Dream About My Pet Cat Buster

Swami’s love for animals is well-known. He speaks about them with real affection and tenderness. He also cares for devotees pets too. I have experienced his care for animals many times. One incident of his love for animals  I remember well and would like to share it.

One night many years ago, I lay awake worrying about my Siamese cat Buster, who suffered chronic tummy problems. We had two Siamese cats at the time, but Buster was often quite sick and I was afraid of losing him.

Moreover, my visit to Swami had been booked and I did not want to cancel it. But I did NOT  want to leave Buster. I was afraid I might not see him again.  Exhausted, by these thoughts, I fell asleep eventually.

During the night I had a beautiful dream of Swami. He was sitting  on a chair in  a friend’s bhajan hall and I was sitting toward the back. Swami beckoned to me to come forward. I moved to the front to sit beside him.  On looking down, I found to my surprise, Buster  sitting on my lap! Swami smiled and stroked him on the head and Buster, typical of Siamese cats, meowed most loudly. Then the dream faded.

Buster, with the help of a brand new diet, overcame his stomach problems and is still with us today. He is now fourteen years old and in sound health. Sadly, our other cat Orchid, died last year. My grief over her loss was so severe, I wrote a long letter to Swami telling him all about her. He lovingly took the letter earlier this year.

This is a very old story. Buster died in 2002. He now comes to me through dreams from time to time….and I can still feel the love that formed a strong bond  between us during his lifetime.

sathyasaimemories.



Buster as a young cat