A Guru Purnima Story – More Sathya Sai Memories

aaswamione99

Before dawn, I rose and left for darshan. There was a dream-like quality everywhere. The early morning sounds of distant chanting could be heard, and the crows nesting in the trees leading to the Mandir made a hard rasping sound as they greeted the new day.

From small houses tucked away behind zigzagging gardens, small lights shone – throwing a hazy glow along narrow alleyways, from which shadowy figures now and again emerged, as they walked drowsily to the temple.

A distant musical clock chimed the four o’clock hour with its melodic nursery rhyme tune – the last few notes of which hung defiantly on to the stillness of the night air.

At the temple, the long queues of ladies spilled over into one another as they squatted in tired readiness for Omkar, the morning chant.

And on reaching the seating area, I noticed ladies assembled everywhere.

The endless queues stretched beside and around the Mandir entrance. In fact, there must have been over forty lines all of which were double. They sat squashed and anxious. I chose the row by the side of the Poornachandra Hall which I hoped would be favourable.

Soon dawn began to break and in the early morning light, I noticed the Mandir had already begun to fill with visiting V.I.P.s, hospital and ashram staff, I knew few `general lines’ would be permitted to enter.

When the Seva Dal lady came along with her bag of numbers, I held my breath and prayed silently for a positive token, but being seated somewhere in the middle of the line, I couldn’t find out what number we had drawn. Suddenly, the young girl in front of me turned and whispered, “It’s o.kay, we have line five.”

Line one slowly rose and were seated, and then a pause before line two moved. After what seemed endless waiting, line three and four both rose and went in at the same time. Then another tedious wait. Ultimately, after a heated discussion among the Seva Dal, we too, were guided in and placed unexpectedly in the front. Just after we sat down, the Seva Dal closed the gates.

Our line was the last to enter but our seating position proved to be the very best.

This of course reminded me of the Biblical text, “and the last shall be first.”

When Swami gave darshan that morning, he walked by us time and again, blessing us, and smiling – indeed that morning is among my most memorable.

 


swaminine9

Beautiful quotation from Baba

*`•.¸(¯`•.•´¯)¸.•´*


I Have come


to light the lamp of  love


in your hearts,


to see that it shines


day by day


with added luster.


I have not come


on a mission of publicity


for a sect or creed or cause.


Nor have I come


to collect followers for a doctrine.


I have no plan


to attract disciples or devotees


into my fold or any fold.


I have come to tell you


of this

unitary faith,


this spiritual principle,


this path of  love,


this virtue of love


this duty to love


this obligation to love.


♥•*¨`*☼¸.•*¨Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ

-Sri Sathya Sai Baba