Sacred Thread Blessing – More Sathya Sai Memories

Wonderful video with clips of walking darshans set to the music of Secret Garden
~♥
(¯`v´¯)
`*.¸.*´♥
(¯`v´¯) ♥ Love ♥ Light ♥ Peace ♥
`*.¸.*´♥
¸.•´¸.•*¨) ¸.•*¨♥
(¸.•´ (¸.•´ .•´ ¸¸.•¨¯`•..♥~#

aawhiteed

In the year 1982, there was an All India Conference of Sai
Organizations at Prashanthi Nilayam.15 Seva Dals from Chennai were
selected for this purpose, being the cream of talents from the large
Seva dal force available in Madras. I was fortunate to be a member in
this team. We were allotted the task of receiving and registering the
delegates arriving at Prashanthi Nilayam from various states, and
guide them to their allotted accommodations and other related jobs.
With the blessings of Bhagavan Baba, we thought, that we did our best
in discharging the allotted duties without any complaints from any
quarter.

On completion of the conference, when we were about to take leave from
Prashanthi Nilayam, we were directed to be present inside the Mandir
for we were likely to be offered a chance for having Pada Namaskar.
Very eagerly all the 15 Seva Dals, including me, gathered in the
Mandir. The office bearers of the World Council and State Presidents
of the Sai Organizations in India were also present. We realized that
it was Swami’s mercy, because of which we the 15 Seva Dals also got
included in the chosen beneficiaries of this rare opportunity.

Swami entered the Mandir and quietly closed the doors behind Him.
Holding a basketful of Vibhuthi pockets, Swami moved along the rows,
blessing each one of us individually, and offering a chance to touch
His Divine Feet. I became emotional as Swami was nearing me. And when
he stood before me, I got up on my knees and prayed to Him to perform
the sacred thread ceremony for my son, S.Venkatesh Iyer who was then
studying in Swami’s Whitefield College. Swami patted me on my back,
offered Vibhuthi pockets and whispered that He would do so.

My application to Swami to perform the thread ceremony for my son was
answered shortly. The very next year, (1983) Swami arranged a mass
sacred thread ceremony for a group of boys studying in his colleges,
and my son was also selected. What was more, Swami gave us a double
benefit. We went to Prashanthi Nilayam with our second son who was at
that time only 8 years old to participate in the function. Swami
called my second son, S. Ramesh, nearer to Him and offered him also
the yellow dhoti, indicating that Ramesh was also included for the
thread ceremony. Yes, Swami performed sacred thread ceremony and also
Gayathri Mantra Upadesh for both my sons, on that auspicious day.

From the Memories of Bombay Srinivasan whose delightful stories often appear on his Facebook page.