Life Is A Pilgrimage – Sathya Sai Baba Quotations

Namaste♥ ॐ♥Pranam♥ ॐ♥Namaskar”

Life is a pilgrimage, where man drags his feet along the rough and thorny road. With the name of God on his lips, he will have no thirst; with the form of God in his heart, he will feel no exhaustion. The company of the holy will inspire him to travel in hope and faith. The assurance that God is within call, that he is ever near, nor is he long in coming, will lend strength to his limbs and courage to his eye.

Remember that with every step, you are nearing God; and God too, takes ten steps toward you when you take one step towards him. There is no stopping place in this pilgrimage; it is one continuous journey, through day and night, through valley and desert; through tears and smiles; through death and birth; through tomb and womb.

When the road ends and the goal is gained, the pilgrim finds that he has traveled only from himself to himself, that the way was long and lonesome, but the God that led him unto it was all the while in him, around him, with him, and beside him! He Himself was always Divine. His yearning to merge in God was but the sea calling to the Ocean! Man loves, because he is Love! He craves for melody and harmony, because He is melody and harmony. He seeks joy, for he is joy. He thirsts for God, for he is composed of God, and he cannot exist without him.

Sri Sathya Sai Baba

Sathya Sai Speaks, Vol. V111. pp 38-39


 

Today being the first anniversary of the passing of Sathya Sai Baba, I would just like to share with you my last darshan experience. 

 

Toward the end of a visit during 2010, I was seated across and at some distance from a lady I knew only by sight. Yet, for some reason, she turned round to me and looked me straight in the eye in a sort of loving way.  After darshan, she stopped to speak to me, saying, “Are you leaving?” – I said “yes.” She said, “Oh so soon! Come back for the birthday, there’s always good energy here at the birthday time.” I smiled and walked away. I had never visited for a birthday. I don’t like big crowds…

Of course, the birthday of 2010 was to be His last. I didn’t give it much thought at the time. While sitting in my living room on the 24th November, 2010  engrossed in something or another, I suddenly felt a sweet sensation that can only be described as “very close darshan.” The feeling was so intense, that I had to go lay down for twenty minutes of so… 

It was to be my last darshan and far, far, away from Prashanthi Nilayam.