Attachment – Metta Teachings

Attachment does not mean feeling for something, it means gripping onto something, holding it, clinging to it. Thus the attachment is not pure, but self-orientated. Perhaps better put as ‘I need my family, my friend, my partner’ rather than ‘I love my family, my friend, my partner’. Thus there is an element of desire, control of what one is ‘attached to’, so that when it changes or goes away, we are torn and hurt, or seek to keep it as it is.

But if we let go of that attachment and enter ourselves selflessly, we find we can have these things without that, so we truly find love and peace. As Christ says – ‘He that findeth his life shall lose it: and he that loseth his life for my sake shall find it” (‘my sake’ meant in the sense of ‘the Christ-self within). By letting go of attachments, we find we gain everything. The love we have for these people becomes selfless and genuine. ~ Jake Murray

’♥ ॐ♥ N░A░M░A░S T░E’♥ ॐ♥

.