A Mist, A Cave, A Dream – Oceans Of Bliss

He who understand has wings. We know that among many peoples the soul is conceived of as a bird. Magical flight assumes the value of an “escape from the body -” that is, it translates ecstasy, the liberation for the soul, into plastic terms. But while the majority of human beings are changed into birds only as the moment of death, when they  forsake their bodies, and fly into the air, shamans, sorcerers, and ecstatic of all kinds realize ’emergence from the body’ in this world and as often as they wish. 

This myth of the bird-soul contains in germ a whole metaphysics of man’s spiritual autonomy and freedom. – Mircea Eliade

.

.

.

For twelve years I was the smith of my soul. I put it in the furnace of austerity and burned it in the fire of combat. I laid it on the anvil of reproach and smote it with the hammer of blame until i made of my soul a mirror with divers acts of worship and piety. then for a year I gazed in contemplation. On my waist I saw a girdle of pride and vanity and self-conceit and reliance on devotion and approbation of my works. I laboured for five years more until that girdle became worn out and I professed Islam anew. I looked and saw that all created things were dead. I pronounced four akbirs over them and returned from the funeral of them all and without intrusion of creatures, through God’s help alone, I attained unto God.

~Bayazid of Bistun

.

.

and to conclude:

There is something in the soul within God lives, and something in the soul wherein the soul  lives in God. I am not sure people, even after years of spiritual practice really understand the nature of soul. While here on the Earth, we are forever protecting our egos, as if they themselves survive death. In truth, the soul, on its journey to the Infinite, cannot turn back halfway. And when it reaches that goal, it experiences only the light, the wisdom, the love of the Divine and it loses two things. It loses all the marks of the experiences and thoughts of its manifestations: and it loses its individuality and is merged in the infinite divine consciousness.    

Namaste♥ ॐ♥Pranam♥ ॐ♥Namaskar”

for those people who have asked, how long does each post takes. Not long unless wordpress is wonky as it often is.. I usually do my research way before posting here..