Soul Inspirations – Poetry

Diana Cormick - her website  link is at the bottom of the page.
Diana Cormick –
her website link is at the bottom of the page.

Wouldst thou know my meaning?
Lie down in the Fire
See and taste the Flowing
Godhead through thy being;
Feel the Holy Spirit
Moving and compelling
Thee within the Flowing
Fire and Light of God.
—Mechthild of Magdeburg, born 1210? – 1297?

The Flowing Light of the Godhead 6.29


When speaking of Mechthild Of Mechthild, we struggle in vain to compose any image at all. She was only “Mechthild” not “Saint Mechthild” or even “Blessed Mechthild”, and she had no official biographer. We know almost nothing about her except what she tells us in her own book, and that is only enough to let us sketch the roughest outlines of her life. Here are just a few more poems from this delightful soul. She is speaking again of the ‘Lord of the Dance’ who resides in her own soul. This will be my last post on the topic of Christian Mysticism for now.


“SOUL: Ah, Lord, love me passionately, love me often, and love me long. For the more passionately you love me, the purer I shall become. The more often you love me, the more beautiful I shall become. The longer you love me, the holier I shall become here on earth.

GOD: That I love you passionately comes from my nature, for I am love itself. That I love you often comes from my desire, for I desire to be loved passionately. That I love you long comes from my being eternal, for I am without end and without a beginning.”

– Mechtild of Magdeburg


The sweet dew of the eternal Trinity gushed forth from the fountain of the everlasting Godhead into the flower of the chosen maid [Mary]; and the fruit of the flower is an immortal God and a mortal man and a living hope of eternal life. And our Redeemer became a Bridegroom. The bride became exhilarated at the sight of his noble countenance.

Interior chapel -  Notra Dame Cathedral
Interior chapel – Notra Dame Cathedral

Under this immense force she loses herself.
In this dazzling light she becomes blind in herself.
And in this utter blindness she sees most clearly.
In this pure clarity she is both dead and living.

The longer she is dead, the more blissfully she lives.
The more blissfully she lives, the more she experiences.
The less she becomes, the more flows from her.
The richer she becomes, the poorer she is.
The deeper she dwells, the more she expands.
The deeper her wounds become, the more violently she struggles.
The more loving God is to her, the higher she soars.
The more radiantly she shines in the reflected effulgence of the Godhead, the closer she approaches him.
The more she labours, the more contentedly she rests.
The more quiet her silence, the louder she calls.
The more his desire grows, the more extravagant their wedding celebration becomes.
The narrower the bed of love becomes, the more intense are the embraces.
The sweeter the kisses on the mouth, the more lovingly they gaze at each other.
The greater the distress in which they part, the more he bestows upon her.
The more she consumes, the more she has.
The more humbly she takes her leave, the sooner she returns.
The more ardent she remains, the sooner she bursts into flame.
The more she burns, the more beautifully she glows.
The more God’s praise is spread abroad, the greater her desire becomes.

Tell me where did the Redeemer become the Bridegroom?”

Pretty intense! What an extraordinary visionary she was. If that isn’t making love to God, I don’t know what is! Sexuality and spirituality, body and soul as one. – J.M.


Wonderful you tube sharing a short bio

on – Mechtild of Magdeburg.

Delightful website offering Christian Saint Icons.

http://www.creativewomanartist.com/wordpress/?page_id=956

4 thoughts on “Soul Inspirations – Poetry

    1. thank you. I thought it about time to speak about the other side of me.. usually I don’t bother with the Christian mystics because I feel others cover the topic better.. I love mysticism and when Jake, a friend, brought up the subject, and we began to talk. I decided yes! – it is time to post. I am glad I did. I have more on the same topic for later on.. Thanks for the comments. It does help to hear from others. Otherwise I feel like i am blowing in the wind. lol – namaste eve… x

      Like

      1. Being a Christian who also embraces other philosophies, I can somewhat relate. I believe there is Truth and Beauty, Life and Peace in so many of the world’s religions..after all, we are all seeking those same Ideals.

        Never feel like you are just blowing into the wind…the wind will carry your voice to wherever it can and needs to be heard 🙂

        Blessings and Sweet Joy~

        Like

Hope to hear from you!

