Sand Castles – Inspirational Quotes

from the garden in fall
from the garden in fall

blueglass8

It is hard to believe I have kept this little blog going now for five long years.Of course during that time, it has been changed and been rearranged so many times, I’ve lost count. It began as a blog for small stories and quotes from Sri Sathya Sai Baba, who died unfortunately, in 2011.

After his demise, the blog lost purpose. At least for  me. The sadness of losing Sai Baba and the community that had been “home” to me for over two decades, left a big hole in my heart. Saddened, I renamed the blog “Children Of Light” then continued on with spiritual parables and quotes. Later still, I began adding more photos and you tubes. Just lately though, I have definitely developed writers block, although I’m not sure why. Perhaps I have reached the limits of my capabilities in the writing dept. Still, the photography is something I love to share with you all. So like the quote below, I have with some success built my sand-castle, decorated it with shells – now the tide has come in and washing all of it away, leaving me with the just the photos.

 Just like children building a sand castle, we embellish it with beautiful shells, bits of driftwood, and pieces of colored glass. The castle is ours, off limits to others. We’re willing to attack if others threaten to hurt it. Yet despite all our attachment, we know that the tide will inevitably come in and sweep the sand castle away. The trick is to enjoy it fully but without clinging, and when the time comes, let it dissolve back into the sea. 🙂

~ Pema Chödrön

The Window Box flowers, Quintin, Fr.
The Window Box flowers,
Quintin, Fr.

amumsfor I.

18 thoughts on “Sand Castles – Inspirational Quotes

    1. Thanks Alex, I might change it over to a photo journal – rather than cont. on with spiritual articles that really have had their day. I am not sure people want to be quoted at or inspired by the spiritual anymore. Seems to be off the boil. Photos and the stories behind appeal. thanks for your kind words. Eve

      Like

  1. All things have their season, don’t they. It is an important trick learning to embrace the day and then let it become yesterday.

    I do know photography blogs are very popular, so you may yet build new castles!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Re: photo-blogs -Yes they are popular – i have seen several photo blogs go on for years… ever fresh.. but honestly word press is not that good for blogs. I do so much better with the F.b. groups The photography there is first class and there is always something new to learn and people to talk to.. Word press is a bit of a grave-yard, at least for me, conversation-wise. shame really. The competition on f.b. is huge though, so best to keep improving, but i suppose that’s a good thing. 🙂 Eve

      Like

        1. Shames you did that, delete your page, as F.b. can be very informative. i like it heaps better than w.p. – but i have a hobby that is very active in the f.b. dept. There are many photo groups and you can learn something from each one. as well as having instant contact with others who enjoy the same thing. There are blogs too, but i don’t know how well they do. I am doing photo blogging on f.b. at the moment. People injoy that. 🙂 – on w.p. there seems to be a lot of reciprocal? likes and not much feed back..

          Like

          1. Yeah, totally different approaches on our parts. I was on FB for several years, but it never did anything for me, and every time I logged in I found myself wondering why. For me, FB was an empty wasteland, but I know many people get value from it.

            Like

    2. I could try a photo-journal – i often have interesting tales to go along with the pics.. What I need is people pics. but they are hard to do here in france. People do not kindly allow you to take their pics. for all sorts of reasons. Anyway, I will think on it. It could be fun.. A photo blog – won’t do a whole lot for me.. You need that extra, that story or tale to tell why you took the pic.. thanks for the idea.. eve

      Like

    1. the truth is i prefer photography. I now concentrate on photography groups on Facebook, which are very satisfying. There is a lot of feedback, and good pointers, whereas on Word Press, there seems to be a dwindling audience. I wonder how long W.P. will last? – blogging is not exactly easy, and often can be a bit of a lonely world, depending on what your blogging on, I suppose. 😉 Eve x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think it is an adventure we all go through in our lives. To express that part of us that needs to…express!
        Those that have that writing gift go much longer as it is their ‘thing’, whereas others have that urge but move on till they find that ‘thing’ they are searching for 🙂
        Your ‘thing’ may just be your photography and it is time to maybe dedicate a bit more time in that way Eve and release what no longer serves.
        Regardless, it is all about the journey…enjoy 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Hope to hear from you!

