Krishna’s Song: the Bagavad Gita – Inspiration Quotations

Krishna - Image from Art Gallery in Delhi

I will tell thee a supreme mystery, because thy soul has faith. It is vision and wisdom and when known thou shalt be free from sin.

It is the supreme mystery and wisdom and the purification supreme. Seen in a wonder of vision, it is a path of righteousness very easy to follow, leading to the highest End.

But those who have no faith in this Truth, come not unto me: they return to the cycles of life in death.

All this visible universe comes from my invisible Being. All beings have their rest in me, but I have no rest in them.

And in truth they rest not in me: consider my sacred mystery. I am the source of all beings, but I have not my rest in them.

Even as the mighty winds rest in the vastness of the ethereal space, all beings have their rest in me. Know thou this truth.

At the end of the night of time all things return to my nature; and when the new day of time begins I bring them again into light.

Thus through my nature I bring forth all creation, and this rolls round in the circles of time.

But I am not bound by this vast work of creation. I am and I watch the drama of works.

I watch and in its work of creation nature brings forth all that moves and moves not: and thus the revolutions of the world go round.

But the fools of the world know not me when they see me in my own human body. They know not my Spirit supreme, the infinite God of this all.

Their hope is in vain, their works are in vain, their learning is in vain, their thoughts are in vain. They fall down to the nature of demons, towards the darkness and of delusion of hell.

But there are some great souls who know me: their refuge is my own divine nature. They love me with a oneness of love: they know that I am the source of all.

They praise me with devotion, they praise me for ever and ever. Their vows are strong; their harmony is ever one; and they worship me with their love.

Others worship me, and work for me, with the sacrifice of spiritual vision. They worship me as One and as many, because they see that all is in me.

For I am the sacrifice and the offering, the sacred gift and the sacred plant. I am the holy words, the holy food, the holy fire, and the offering that is made in the fire.

I am the Father of the universe, and even the Source of the Father. I am the Mother of the universe, and the Creator of all. I am the Highest to be known, the Path of purification, the holy AUM, the Three Vedas.

I am the Way, and the Master who watches in silence; thy friend and thy shelter and thy abode of peace. I am the beginning and the middle and the end of all things: their seed of Eternity, their Treasure supreme.”

Krishna

– from THE BHAGAVAD GITA.

Trans Juan Mascaro ISBN 9780140449181

Krishna Images: courtesy of Exotic India Art Gallery, New Delhi.

Much thanks to JAKE MURRAY FOR INTRODUCING ME TO BOTH SACRED WRITINGS.